Matthew Hawtin




Once Again, Again CD

Once Again, Again offers a long forgotten snapshot of what made the beginning of the 90s such a special place to be. It was a time to champion all forms of electronic music and pour them into one big melting pot, before everything began splintering into genres and sub-genres. Back then Richie wasn’t the only member of the Hawtin family making waves as a DJ, over in the chill out room Matthew was also captivating crowds with marathon ambient sets. This unique mix compilation, available in two formats – a downloadable three hour transcendental voyage or the more slim line 75 minute CD version - represents a very personal account of what it was like.

Between 1993 and 1998, Matthew was a regular at Detroit parties like Hardest, Spastik and Heaven and Hell, providing the Yin to his brother’s Yang so to speak. For him, ambient music offered a more emotional, thoughtful and evocative journey and the chill out room was a safe place for people to drift in and out and make a different kind of contact, away from the intensity of the main room. As well the midwest, his exploits inevitably took him further a field to play at major European events like Tribal Gathering, Sonar and Time Warp.

95% of Once Again, Again originates from 1993 to 1996 including tracks by such artists as Sun Electric, Irresistible Force, Peter Namlook and MLO and should serve up a timely dose of nostalgia for the old guard, while introducing a whole new generation to the rich, dynamic history of a genre that briefly dominated the electronic landscape. Matthew has really gone back to the source with a selection that has truly stood the test of time. The result is a real joy to experience, packed with soothing textures, glistening melodies, restrained percussion and mandatory bird call. Until now, most of these tracks have only ever seen the light of day on vinyl and with that in mind, Tim Xavier’s mastering skills have also added an extra dimension – a crispness that breathes new life into this collection of floating monoliths that blend together without the slightest resistance.

So lie back, unplug all possible sources of interruption and let yourself drift through this expertly constructed spectrum of sound, to a time when a wide-eyed generation of party people really felt they could make a difference to the world. 15 years later things may not have turned out quite how we hoped, but this special mix at least proves that some of us haven’t stopped believing.


Artist: Matthew Hawtin
Title: Once Again, Again
Catalogue No.: PLUS8107CD
Distribution: Rough Trade / Beatport / M-nus / Juno
Format: CD, wav, mp3
Release Date Physical: March 8th, 2010
Release Date Digital: March 10th, 2010

To order or listen please visit:

Track Listing:
1. A.S.I.O. and Paddee – Transparencies From The Outer Regions
2. Pineapple Circle – Circle Waves
3. Namlook – The Dutch Side of the Milky Way
4. Jet Chamber – Feedback Fluctuation
5. Solar Quest – Flying Spirals
6. Further – Ugene
7. James Bernard – Helix
8. The Irresistible Force – Flying High
9. MLO – Aqua
10. The Irresistible Force – Symphony in E
11. A Positive Life – Aquasonic
12. Dubtribe Sound System – Quiet Earth
13. MLO – Sleeper
14. Aedena Cycle – The Dreamshadow
15. Atlas – Compass Error (East)
16. Sun Electric – Northern Lights
17. Porcupine Tree – Voyage 34: Phase 3 (Astralasia Dreamstate)
18. Shades Of Orion – Liquid Shade
19. Theorem – Emerge
20. Gustavo Lamas – Naturales
21. James Bernard – Euph
22. FUSE – Carocell
23. A.S.I.O. and Paddee – Transparencies From The Outer Regions
24. Squid – Emprisoning Sound On a Piece Of Wax
25. Legion of Green Man – Synaptic Response (Memories Reoccuring)
26. A.S.I.O. and Paddee – Transparencies From The Outer Regions
27. Sun Electric – Sarotti
28. MLO – Birds and Flutes
29. Link - Amenity

Once Again, Again CD